Bull Crossing

Knowledge is Bliss

Anshu Jain of Deutsche

Posted by g.e. on July 21, 2006


Anshu Jain of Deutsche is one of the names most credited for transforming Deutsche Bank into the continent’s and world’s top banks.

As Co-head of Global Markets, he took Deutsche to the international scene by first promising RoE of 25%, and then by delivering it!

Overcoming the German bank’s desire to consolidate in its home, and expanding agressively in United States, he is all set to turn Deutsche into a name that even the households in India will recognise.

See Moneypenny’s gossipy fascination with the Demigod in the Weekend FT here:
If I had reached over to adjust the Princess Royal’s hair ornaments I would probably have been apprehended not only by her royal protection officer, seated discreetly nearby, but also Josef Ackermann, seated to her left, who runs Deutsche Bank. Deutsche were picking up all the big awards that night, including the ultimate prize of Bank of the Year, so they had wheeled out their big guns, and Dr Ackermann was not the only top executive present. Anshu Jain, their head of global markets, was sitting opposite him, and so I was finally able to observe him not only in the flesh but also at close quarters.

Anshu Jain is a legend in that goldfish bowl that is the world’s capital markets. My dinner companions, at least two of whom had previously worked with this demigod (who has served time with both Merrill Lynch and Kidder Peabody), spoke of him in hushed and reverent terms. Now, I have long believed that Mr Jain is a great asset to the shareholders of Deutsche Bank, but what no one had ever bothered to tell me before was that he is quite young (about my age, I believe) and terribly handsome. So very handsome, I might add, that I am thinking of replacing the current picture I have over my desk (a Pearson share price chart – don’t ask) with one of Mr Jain.

I didn’t get as much time as I would have liked to gaze at Mr Jain, as I was busy running masterclasses in bow-tie assembly for the people at my own table. I was an honoured guest of the American bank whose logo is the emblem of a roaring stock market, but which seems seem incapable of hiring staff who can tie a bow-tie.

Leave a Reply

 
